Museum Boards

The Johnson County Museum functions with two boards who provide guidance and direction specifically for the benefit of the museum.  The museum is managed by the Johnson County Park & Recreation District Board and governed by the Johnson County Commission.

Museum Advisory Council

The Museum Advisory Council (MAC) provides oversight of the Johnson County Museum's operations and budget. Council members are appointed by the Johnson County Commission. The Council meets six times per year at the Johnson County Museum, 8788 Metcalf Avenue, Overland Park, from 8:00 - 9:30 a.m., unless otherwise posted. Special meetings may be called at the discretion of the Council Chair. All meetings will be posted on the Museum's calendar as well as on the Johnson County Board of Commissioners master calendar.

Nancy Wallerstein, Chair (2nd District appointment)
Gary L. Hicks (3rd District appointment)
Vacant (1st District appointment)
Julie Hickman (5th District appointment)
Jean Hughes (Chairman appointment)
Courtney Craig (6th District appointment)
Donna M. Davis (4th District appointment)
Heather Rubesch (JCPRD Board Liaison)

Johnson County Museum Foundation

The Johnson County Museum Foundation is a separate not-for-profit membership organization committed to supporting the mission of the Museum through support of exhibits, programs, publications, and special events. The organization is governed by a Board of Trustees, who serve three year terms and may serve two consecutive terms.

Lonita Cook (President)
Jama Akers (Vice President)
Chris Carey (Secretary)
Tom McCabe (Treasurer)
Mary McMurray (Assistant Treasurer)
Jerry Baird
Tracy Flexter George
Tom McCabe
Larry Meeker 
Nancy Stankiewicz
Nancy Wallerstein
Julie Hickman (Museum Advisory Council Liaison)

Persons who may need assistance, the use of a sign language or oral interpreter, or who require special accommodations, should contact (913) 715-2575, at least two (2) business days prior to the meeting.